If a poor uninsured driver T bones you at an intersection, that's just the luck of the draw. Pay for your own repair and medical costs. That's the American way. Don't tread on me.
If you do decide to drive illegally you can lose your driving privileges and pay a reinstatement fee. Drivers’ fees range from less than $200 in some cases to thousands of dollars as costly penalties increase for repeat offenders, making it harder for them to pay their totals and become a legal driver, BMV administrator Tim Fisher said.(see below for details)
If a poor uninsured Ohio resident breaks a leg or catches pneumonia and goes to the ER your insurance premiums and taxes will pay for his or her care. That's the American way. Don't tread on me.
The minimum tax/fee/fine for being without health insurance in 2014. will be $95.
Section 4509.101 of the Ohio Revised Code prohibits an individual from operating a motor vehicle in Ohio without maintaining proof of FR continuously throughout the registration period with respect to that vehicle, or in the case of a driver who is not the owner, with respect to that driver's operation of that vehicle. The law requires financial responsibility in the minimum amount of $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident, $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident, and $25,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident.
Coverage set to double: In 2014 Ohio drivers who carry the minimum amount of insurance will have to boost their coverage the next time they renew their policies, to $25,000 per person, $50,000 for a multiperson accident and $25,000 for property damage.
Average annual cost for minimum coverage in Oho s over $600.
If you decide to forgo insurance and still be legal: A certificate issued by the BMV, after proper application and approval, indicating that money or government bonds in the amount of $30,000 is on deposit with the office of the Treasurer of the State of Ohio.